Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel

Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel

Regency Romance, minus the hunky, shirtless lords.

Elizabeth Collington, the twenty-year-old daughter of a country vicar, longs for more than the circumscribed life of her 18th-century Devonshire village. When a highwayman steals a kiss along with her mother's necklace – provoking feelings of which her father would never approve – she suddenly h...

Order Now!
About the Book

Elizabeth Collington, the twenty-year-old daughter of a country vicar, longs for more than the circumscribed life of her 18th-century Devonshire village. When a highwayman steals a kiss along with her mother’s necklace – provoking feelings of which her father would never approve – she suddenly has a secret no one must know. But the highwayman also has a secret: “he” is actually a woman.

Will the story of the highwayman’s past – complete with a tyrannical husband, a gloomy castle, and a daring escape into London’s underworld – persuade Elizabeth to abandon propriety in favor of passion? In the end, can the lovers make an independent life in a world where women are little more than property, evading both the redcoats and the jealous young lord who would tear them apart?

Daring and Decorum is a comedy of manners wrapped around a gothic tale; a mashup of Jane Austen, Alfred Noyes’ poem The Highwayman, Robin Hood, and Moll Cutpurse; and a passionate case for the freedom to love whom one chooses, Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel should appeal to fans of Ellen Kushner’s Riverside series, Emma Donoghue’s Life Mask, and Michelle Martin’s Pembroke Park (billed as the first lesbian Regency).

Details
Author:
Genres: Historical Romance, Historical Suspense, LGBTQ
Tags: Georgian Era, LGBTQ
Publisher: Supposed Crimes
Publication Year: 2017
ASIN: B0728N4MP9
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Sign up for Updates
About the Author
Lawrence Hogue

Lawrence Hogue's writing is all over the place and all over time. He started out in nonfiction, publishing All the Wild and Lonely Places in 2000. After moving to Michigan, he switched to writing fanfiction and original fiction. Now he’s writing a series of novels about an 18th-century cross-dressing highwayman. Adventure, pronoun confusion, and many cups of tea ensue. He's often been called a Social Justice Warrior, but prefers Social Justice Wizard or Social Justice Lawful Neutral Rogue.

Preview
Reviews
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."